4/3 is the Intent to Apply Deadline for the Literature Fellowship

The Regional Arts & Culture Council (RACC) is now accepting applications from literary artists working in poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and playwriting for RACC’s annual artist fellowship award. Applications are now available online atracc.org/grantsonline.

Since 1999, the RACC fellowship award has honored and supported uniquely talented local artists who contribute to the community in very meaningful ways. The winning artist receives a cash award of $20,000. RACC rotates the recognition among four disciplines every year – visual artists, performing artists, literary artists, and media artists. Past Literature Fellows have included Kim Stafford (2008), Craig Lesley (2004), and Michele Glazer (2001).

Guidelines can be downloaded from the RACC website, and all applications must be submitted online atracc.org/grantsonline. To be considered, applicants must submit an “Intent to Apply” form electronically no later than 5:00 pm, April 3, 2013. Applicants are then required to finalize and submit their online application, and upload all supplementary materials electronically through the RACC GrantsOnline system by 5:00 pm, April 10, 2013.

A panel of community representatives with expertise in the field of literature will select the fellowship winner. An artist’s involvement in the community will play a significant role in evaluating each application. In addition, applicants must meet several strict criteria in order to be eligible for this highly competitive award:

  • The applicant must be a professional artist, as recognized by his/her peers, with a minimum of 10 years’ experience in the literary arts.
  • The applicant must have been an Oregon resident for a minimum of 5 years and a current resident of Clackamas, Multnomah, or Washington Counties.
  • The applicant must demonstrate sustained high artistic quality of artmaking.

Other RACC fellows are listed at racc.org/fellows, and they include: Mary Oslund, Obo Addy, Christine Bourdette, Terry Toedtemeier, Jim Blashfield, Michele Glazer, Tomas Svoboda, Keith Scales, Judy Cooke, Michael Brophy, Chel White, Craig Lesley, Thara Memory, Henk Pander, Joanna Priestley, Kim Stafford, Robin Lane, Eric Stotik and Lawrence Johnson.