Performing artists invited to apply for RACC’s 2014 fellowship award

Portland, Ore –  The Regional Arts & Culture Council (RACC) is now accepting applications from performing artists working in dance/movement, music and theatre for RACC’s annual artist fellowship award. Applications are now available online at
Since 1999, the RACC fellowship award has honored and supported uniquely talented local artists who contribute to the community in very meaningful ways. This year, RACC intends to return to making two awards, with each artist receiving a cash award of $20,000. RACC rotates the recognition among four disciplines every year – performing artists, visual artists, literary artists, and media artists. Past Performing Arts Fellows have included Mary Oslund and Obo Addy (1999), Tomas Svoboda and Keith Scales (2002), Thara Memory (2005), and Robin Lane (2010).
Guidelines can be downloaded from the RACC website, and all applications must be submitted online at To be considered, applicants must submit an “Intent to Apply” form electronically no later than 5:00 pm, June 18, 2014. Applicants are then required to finalize and submit their online application, and upload all supplementary materials electronically through the RACC GrantsOnline system by 5:00 pm, June 25, 2014.
A panel of community representatives with expertise in the fields of dance, music and theatre will select the two fellowship winners. An artist’s involvement in the community will play a significant role in evaluating each application. In addition, applicants must meet several strict criteria in order to be eligible for these highly competitive awards:

  • The applicant must be a professional artist, as recognized by his/her peers, with a minimum of 10 years’ experience in the performing arts.
  • The applicant must have been an Oregon resident for a minimum of 5 years and a current resident of Clackamas, Multnomah, or Washington Counties.
  • The applicant must demonstrate sustained high artistic quality of artmaking.

Other RACC fellows are listed at, and they include: Mary Oslund, Obo Addy, Christine Bourdette, Terry Toedtemeier, Jim Blashfield, Michele Glazer, Tomas Svoboda, Keith Scales, Judy Cooke, Michael Brophy, Chel White, Craig Lesley, Thara Memory, Henk Pander, Joanna Priestley, Kim Stafford, Robin Lane, Eric Stotik, Lawrence Johnson and Sallie Tisdale.